The Four Domains of Teaching Responsibility

Contributed by:
Jonathan James
It describes the four domains of teaching responsibility:
1. Planning and preparation
2. The classroom environment
3. Instruction
4. Professional Responsibilities
1. Charlotte Danielson’s
The Four Domains of
Teaching Responsibility
Planning and Preparation
The Classroom Environment
Professional Responsibilities
2. Planning and Preparation
1a: Demonstrating Knowledge of Content
and Pedagogy
1b: Demonstrating Knowledge of Students
1c: Selecting Instructional Goals
1d: Demonstrating Knowledge of Resources
1e: Designing Coherent Instruction
1f: Assessing Student Learning
3. The Classroom Environment
2a: Creating an Environment of Respect and
2b: Establishing a Culture for Learning
2c: Managing Classroom Procedures
2d: Managing Student Behavior
2e: Organizing Physical Space
4. Instruction
3a: Communicating Clearly and Accurately
3b: Using Questioning and Discussion
3c: Engaging Students in Learning
3d: Providing Feedback to Students
3e: Demonstrating Flexibility and
5. Professional Responsibilities
4a: Reflecting on Teaching
4b: Maintaining Accurate Records
4c: Communicating with Families
4d: Contributing to the School and District
4e: Growing and Developing Professionally
4f: Showing Professionalism